You are currently viewing ‘Family MUAC’ training in Kabul

‘Family MUAC’ training in Kabul

By Elena Moroni, External Relations Officer

On Thursday 19 November, AfD’s trainers conducted a training session on the ‘Family MUAC’ in Kabul, as part of the training of Community Health Workers carried out between October and November 2020, as extension of the SUN Pooled Fund (2019/2020).

AfD’s team as well as a representative of UNOPS based in Geneva were able to virtually attend the training as it took place. The live training session was carried out as part of the virtual monitoring mission with the objective of:

  • understanding the current status of the project,
  • l'implication des parties prenantes et des partenaires,
  • explorer les domaines pour le renforcement des capacités et l'appui technique attendus de l'UNOPS,
  • pour entendre les parties prenantes sur les meilleures pratiques, les leçons apprises, l'impact du programme actuel et
  • pour fournir des recommandations et la marche à suivre pour le programme.

La formation « PB en famille » a été développée comme une extension sans frais du Fonds commun SUN, avec des activités spécifiques à COVID-19 visant à former 600 ASC et plus de 200 soignants en PB en famille et à l'ANJE, afin d'améliorer l'utilisation du traitement MAS dans établissements de santé provinciaux. À ce jour, la formation a été achevée pour 240 ASC et 85 soignants à Bamyan et Daykundi, elle se déroule actuellement à Kaboul et elle sera achevée à Panjsher et Jawzjan.

Vous trouverez plus d'informations sur la formation ici

Voici les principaux sujets qui ont été abordés lors de la session de formation d'aujourd'hui à Kaboul :

1. Utilisation de la bande MUAC

Il est conseillé de mesurer d'abord la longueur du bras d'un enfant de l'épaule au coude, de trouver la partie médiane et de mesurer la circonférence avec le ruban MUAC. La formatrice de l'AfD a demandé à l'une des femmes présentes à la formation d'effectuer la mesure sur son propre enfant, qui souffre de malnutrition sévère. Le formateur recommande à la mère d'emmener son enfant dans une clinique de santé désignée afin de recevoir un traitement contre la malnutrition aiguë.

2. Eddème : Le formateur d'AfD a demandé aux stagiaires d'expliquer les 3 étapes de l'œdème, sur les mains et les pieds/mains, les pieds et le haut du corps/les mains, les pieds, le haut du corps et le visage.

3. Traitement de la MAM et de la MAS : le formateur de l'AfD a expliqué les traitements disponibles pour traiter la malnutrition ; il continue de décrire les aliments complémentaires prêts à l'emploi (RUCF) et les aliments thérapeutiques prêts à l'emploi (RUTF), à quel stade un enfant diagnostiqué avec la malnutrition doit être référé à un hôpital pour des soins d'urgence.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Travail et allaitement : le formateur d'AfD a expliqué la nécessité d'allaiter un enfant immédiatement après la naissance ; si la mère est testée positive au COVID-19, l'allaitement peut continuer avec des mesures de précaution comme se laver les mains et porter un masque facial ; il a été rappelé aux stagiaires d'informer les femmes enceintes séropositives au COVID-19 de contacter leurs établissements de santé locaux au moment de l'accouchement ; il est tout à fait sûr d'accoucher dans une clinique de santé même si elle est positive au COVID-19. La mère et l'enfant doivent être maintenus dans la même pièce après l'accouchement, afin de faciliter l'allaitement ; la mère et l'enfant doivent rester dans un établissement de santé pendant au moins 24 heures après l'accouchement. Cela permettrait aux praticiens de la santé de donner aux mères les informations nécessaires pour bien prendre soin de leur nouveau-né à domicile.

 

 

5. Hygiène : Les professionnels de la santé doivent informer les mères des mesures d'hygiène à suivre dans leur propre foyer ; cela comprend une bonne cuisson des aliments, l'utilisation de savon et de désinfectants, le lavage des mains. Il est conseillé d'allaiter exclusivement un enfant jusqu'à l'âge de 6 mois ; les aliments solides ne devraient être introduits qu'à 6 mois; une liste d'aliments appropriés pour les enfants âgés de 6 à 12 mois; une liste d'aliments appropriés pour les enfants âgés de 12 à 24 mois.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pour plus d'informations sur le programme de nutrition de l'AfD et la formation des ASC, cliquez sur ici

Pour le site Web sur l'état de la malnutrition aiguë présentant le programme de l'AfD, cliquez sur ici

‘Family MUAC’ training in Kabul

Nov 2020

By Elena Moroni, External Relations Officer

On Thursday 19 November, AfD’s trainers conducted a training session on the ‘Family MUAC’ in Kabul, as part of the training of Community Health Workers carried out between October and November 2020, as extension of the SUN Pooled Fund (2019/2020).

AfD’s team as well as a representative of UNOPS based in Geneva were able to virtually attend the training as it took place. The live training session was carried out as part of the virtual monitoring mission with the objective of:

  • understanding the current status of the project,
  • the involvement of stakeholders and partners,
  • to explore areas for further capacity building and technical support expected from UNOPS,
  • to hear from the stakeholders about the best practices, lessons learned, impact of the current program and
  • to provide recommendations and way forward for the program.

The ‘Family MUAC’ training was developed as a no-cost extension of the SUN Pooled Fund, with COVID-19 specific activities aimed at training 600 CHWs and over 200 caregivers in Family-MUAC and IYCF, to improve the uptake of SAM treatment in provincial health facilities. As of today, the training was completed for 240 CHWs and 85 caregivers in Bamyan and Daykundi, it is currently taking place in Kabul and it will be completed in Panjsher and Jawzjan.

More information on the training can be found here

These are the main subjects that were discussed at today’s training session in Kabul:

1.Use of the MUAC tape

It is advised to first measure the length of a child’s arm from shoulder to elbow, find the middle part and measure the circumference with the MUAC tape. AfD’s trainer asked one of the women present at the training to perform the measurement on her own child, who is found to be severely malnourished. The trainer recommends the mother to take her child to a designated health clinic in order to receive treatment for acute malnutrition.

2. Edema: AfD’s trainer asked the trainees to explain the 3 stages of Edema, on hands and feet/hands, feet and upper body/hands, feet, upper body and face.

3. Treatment of MAM and SAM: AfD’s trainer explained the treatments available to treat malnutrition; it continues describing ready-to-use complementary food (RUCF) and ready-to-use therapeutic food (RUTF), at what stage a child diagnosed with malnutrition needs to be referred to a hospital for urgent care.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Labour and Breastfeeding: AfD’s trainer explained the need for a child to be breastfed from immediately after birth; in case the mother tests positive to COVID-19 breastfeeding can continue with precautionary measures like washing hands and wearing a face mask; trainees were reminded to inform pregnant mothers positive to COVID-19 to approach their local health facilities at time of giving birth; it is completely safe to give birth at a health clinic even if being COVID-19 positive.  Mother and child should be kept in the same room after delivery, in order to facilitate breastfeeding; mother and child should remain at a health facility for at least 24 hours post delivery. This would allow health practitioners to give mothers the necessary information to properly care for their newborns at home.

 

 

5. Hygiene: Health practitioners should inform mothers about hygiene measures to follow in their own homes; this includes proper cooking of food, use of soap and disinfectants, hand washing. It is advised to exclusively breastfeed a child up to 6 months of age; solid food should be introduced only at 6 months; a list of proper food for children aged 6 to 12 months; a list of proper food for children aged 12 to 24 months.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For more information on AfD’s nutrition program and training of CHWs click here

For the state of acute malnutrition website featuring AfD’s program click here

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *